History

It is John Wells who is looked upon by many people as the founder of New Hope’s community. Wells was formally licensed to erect and keep a ferry by act of the General Assembly of Pennsylvania in 1722, and further licensed to keep a tavern in 1727. The result was the Ferry Tavern, which today is The Logan Inn. The Inn is a fine example of the colonial habit of wrapping additions around existing structures. The name Logan came to the Inn about 100 years after it was first licensed and after the ferry had ceased operation. Reportedly, on February 22, 1828, as part of a celebration, probably of Washington’s birthday, the Ferry Tavern was renamed the Logan Inn (or House) and a metal cut-out of an Indian was installed towering above the roof of the Inn.

There are different accounts of this event – one that the Indian was Chief Logan and that the sign was paid for by a subscription of the townspeople in his honor – another that the identity of the Indian was never mentioned and that the sign was commissioned by the owners of the Inn.

We prefer the former legend which reports that a Lenni-Lenape chief, noted for his kindness and hospitality with the white settlers, developed a close friendship with James Logan, secretary to William Penn, and as a sign of admiration took Logan’s name.

The cut-out remained above the Inn for 50 years and has been visible sporadically since then. Admired for it’s aesthetic design and sought after by collectors, it again stands as a guardian of the town.